Album review: Teyana Taylor - The Album

Africa Album Big Sean Black Davido Erykah Badu Family Iman Shumpert Kehlani Lauryn Hill Love mama Missy Elliott Music New album New Music Nigeria R&B Teyana Taylor US

Teyana Taylor’s album is an ode to Black womanhood and reinforces that Black Women are indeed MAGIC! 
With features from Erykah Badu, Missy Elliott to Lauryn Hill, 'THE ALBUM' rebirths RnB & Neo Soul classics, empowered and endorsed by the women who did it first. 
Tracks like ‘Lowkey’ which features the Mama of Neyo Soul - Erykah Badu and samples elements from Badu’s 1997 single’ Next Lifetime’, We got Love’, featuring Lauryn Hill, which emphasizes love & spirituality over money and superficiality, as well as ‘Boomin’, featuring Missy Elliot and Future, giving us her legendary vocals, whilst using the 90’s RnB group ‘Blaque’ ‘808’ references. Not forgetting to mention Timbaland and his signature finger click sounds that were so significant to the 90’s sound. 
Our current favourite has to be ‘Killa’! We have had it on repeat as she calls upon our Afrobeats king Davido, merging Afrobeats and RnB, keeping us all in our feelings.
Other artists that feature on the album are Kehlani, Big Sean, Rick Ross, and Migos’ Quavo. Additionally, Shumpert, her fiance and even her daughter Junie. 
The lengthy 23 track body of work arrived at a time that it is really needed. Juneteenth (June 19th), is a day of celebration and commemoration for the end of slavery for Black people in the United States. As we fight our way through thick of the global #BlackLivesMatter movement, this project represents a personal protest against the injustices that the black community continues to face in the name of white supremacy. 
Black music, curated and sung by a Black woman, who oozes Black love with her Black man and her black daughter, who is now pregnant again with another black baby.
It doesn't get anymore powerful than this and WE LOVE TO SEE IT!
The Album Tracklist:
  1. Intro
  2. Come Back to Me (feat. Rick Ross and Junie)
  3. Wake Up Love (feat. Iman)
  4. Lowkey (feat. Erykah Badu)
  5. Let’s Build (feat. Quavo)
  6. 1-800-One-Nite
  7. Mornin’ (feat. Kehlani)
  8. Boomin’ (feat. Missy Elliott and Future)
  9. 69
  10. Killah (feat. Davido)
  11. Bad
  12. Wrong Bitch
  13. Shoot It Up (feat. Big Sean)
  14. Bare Wit Me
  15. Lose Each Other
  16. Concrete
  17. Still
  18. Ever Ever
  19. Try Again
  20. Friends
  21. How You Want It (feat. King Combs)
  22. Made It
  23. We Got Love (feat. Ms. Lauryn Hill)

Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published